Tullis Street Cemetery (often known as John Street Cemetery, and also as Bridgeton Burial Ground) is one of the oldest places of interest in Bridgeton. A burial ground for Brigitonians from 1811 to 1869, it is thought to have been associated with the Bridgeton Relief Church. Only a few stones have legible inscriptions. The best preserved is against a wall just inside the Tullis Street entrance.
A list of over forty inscriptions and list of lair holders circa 1876 is also held at the Mitchell Library, giving a fascinating insight to the occupations and trades in Bridgeton at the time. Tullis Street (formerly John Street) was renamed in 1926 in honour of one of Bridgeton’s firms of ‘Leather Barons’, which became world leader in the production of belting leather for industry.
The memorial gardens were restored by Glasgow City Council in 2010 into an attractive space for locals and visitors, and is now known as Tullis Street Memorial Gardens.
- Historical features
- Wheelchair access
- Wildflower meadows
Tullis Street, Bridgeton, Glasgow G40 1HW